DE | ES | FI | FR | NL


  Join our LinkedIn Group  Send us an email      Log in to the extranet

Project calendar

21-23 MARCH 2017

Final OpenNESS Annual Meeting in Smolenice, Slovakia

  Project governance

The OpenNESS organisational structure involves the following bodies and individuals.

The Project Steering Committee (PSC) is the main decision-making body for the project execution and reports to the General Assembly. Members are:

  • Eeva Furman (Project Coordinator), Finnish Environment Institute, Finland
  • Heli Saarikoski (OpenNESS Deputy Coordinator), Finnish Environment Institute, Finland
  • Marion Potschin, University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
  • Kurt Jax (OpenNESS Deputy Coordinator), Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research, Germany
  • Christoph Görg, Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research, Germany
  • Allan Watt, Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, United Kingdom
  • Paula Harrison, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Joachim Maes, Joint Research Centre, Italy
  • David Barton, Norwegian Institute for Nature Research, Norway
  • Erik Gomez-Baggethun, Autonomous University of Barcelona, Spain
  • Jan Dick, Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, United Kingdom
  • Francis Turkelboom, Research Institute for Nature and Forest, Belgium
  • Marta Peres-Soba, Wageningen University and Research Centre, Netherlands
  • Rob Wolters, ECNC-European Centre for Nature Conservation
  • Jiska van Dijk, Norwegian Institute for Nature Research, Norway
  • Guy Duke (SME Representative), The Environment Bank Limited, United Kingdom

The General Assembly (GA) consists of representatives from all partners and acts as the supervisory body to the project.

The International Advisory Board (IAB) provides an external quality control for the project and a window to the external environment. Members are:

  • Kai Chan, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Peter Bridgewater, Joint Nature Conservation Committee, United Kingdom
  • Davide Geneletti, University of Trento, Italy
  • Marion Mehring, Institute for Social-Ecological Research, Germany
  • Sirpa Pietikäinen, Member of European Parliament
  • Mark Rounsevell, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Kerry TenKate, Director of the Business and Biodiversity Offsets Programme at Forest Trends, Washington DC

The Work Package Core Teams (WPCT) are the management groups for the Work Packages. The elected chairpersons are the Work Package Leaders who are responsible for the management of their WPs. The WPCTs for WP6 and WP7 form a platform with the OPERAs project. Members are listed on the Work Packages webpage.

The Project Science Review Group (PSRG) is responsible for reviewing individual and collective outputs of the WPs for quality control and consistency with the OpenNESS Description of Work. It will ensure deliverables take account of the latest scientific progress in the field and be responsible for external peer review processes and the actions arising from them. Members are:

  • Prof. Dr Mikael Hildén, Finnish Environment Institute, Finland
  • Dr Dolf de Groot, Wageningen University, the Netherlands
  • Dr Giovanni Bidoglio, EC Joint Research Centre, Italy
  • Dr Heidi Wittmer, Helmholtz-Zentrum fur Umweltforschung GMBH, Germany